Document Actions

You are here: Home / News / Network News / Brains for Brains Awardees 2012

Brains for Brains Awardees 2012

On September 14, 2012, the Bernstein Association for Computational Neuroscience for the third time conferred the "Brains for Brains Young Researchers' Computational Neuroscience Awards". The prizes were presented during the Bernstein Conference in Munich (September 2012).

Brains for Brains

With the Brains for Brains Award, the Bernstein Association for Computational Neuroscience honors young scientists that plan to pursue a research career in computational neuroscience and who have achieved scientific publications at a very early stage of their careers. Applications were invited from students from relevant disciplines who had at least one peer reviewed publication (as coauthor) or a peer reviewed conference abstract (as first author) that resulted from predoctoral studies and was accepted or published in 2011 or 2012.

The following applicants were selected for a Brains for Brains award:

  • Michael Eickenberg (Saclay, INRIA, France)
    Eickenberg M., Rowekamp R.J., Kouh M., Sharpee T.O. (2012): Characterizing responses of translation-invariant neurons to natural stimuli: maximally informative invariant dimensions. Neural Computation 24(9): 2384-2421.
  • Jeffrey S. Seely (Columbia University, New York, USA)
    Seely J. and Chow C.C. (2011): Role of mutual inhibition in binocular rivalry. Journal of Neurophysiology 106(5): 2136-2150.

Preisverleihung B4B 2012

From left to right: Markus Reichardt (Representative of Multi Channel Systems MCS GmbH, sponsor), awardee Jeffrey S. Seely (Columbia University, New York, USA), awardee Michael Eickenberg (Saclay, INRIA, Frankreich), Birgit Trogisch (Representative of Brain Products GmbH, sponsor).
Image: Bernstein Coordination Site

Besides a 500 Euro cash prize, the award was endowed with a travel grant of up to 2.000 Euro covering a one-week trip to Germany and individually planned visits to up to two German research institions in Computational Neuroscience.

The awards were conferred on September 14 within the framework of the Bernstein Conference 2012 in Munich. The awardees presented their work in a short talk during the award ceremony.


  • Jan Benda (Munich)
  • Simone Cardoso de Oliveira (Freiburg)
  • Janina Kirsch (Freiburg)
  • Robert Martin (Berlin)
  • Constantin Rothkopf (Frankfurt)

The awards were made possible due to generous donations by:

  • Brain Products GmbH
  • Multi Channel Systems MCS GmbH
  • neuroConn GmbH