Document Actions

You are here: Home / News / Network News / Brains for Brains Awardees 2011

Brains for Brains Awardees 2011

On October 6, 2011, the Bernstein Association for Computational Neuroscience for the second time conferred the "Brains for Brains Young Researchers' Computational Neuroscience Awards". The prizes were presented during the Bernstein Conference in Freiburg (October 2011).

Brains for Brains

With the Brains for Brains Award, the Bernstein Association for Computational Neuroscience honors young scientists that plan to pursue a research career in computational neuroscience and who have achieved scientific publications at a very early stage of their careers. Applications were invited from students from relevant disciplines who had at least one peer reviewed publication (as coauthor) or a peer reviewed conference abstract (as first author) that resulted from predoctoral studies and was accepted or published in 2010 or 2011.

The following applicants were selected for a Brains for Brains award:

  • Elizabeth Forbes (University of Queensland, Australia)
    Forbes, E.M., Hunt, J.J. & Goodhill, G.J. (2011): The combinatorics of neurite self-avoidance. Neural Computation, doi:10.1162/NECO_a_00186.
  • Daniel Rasmussen (Waterloo University, Canada)
    Daniel Rasmussen and Chris Eliasmith (2011): A Neural Model of Rule Generation in Inductive Reasoning. Topics in Cognitive Science, 3(1):140–153.

Besides a 500 Euro cash prize, the award was equipped with a travel grant of up to 1.500 Euro covering a one-week trip to Germany and individually planned visits to up to two German research institions in Computational Neuroscience.

Besides the two regular awards, the jury gave out a special award (consisting of participation in the Bernstein Conference and a talk) to an especially young applicant who had contributed to a publication before she even started her university studies:

  • Ines Derya Steenbuck (2nd year medical student at the University of Freiburg, Germany)
    Steenbuck I.D., Butz M., Ruiter M., van Ooyen A. (2011): Small-world topology is most efficient for homeostatic neuronal network repair. BMC Neuroscience 2011, Volume 12 Suppl 1, P357

The awards were conferred on Oct. 6 within the framework of the Bernstein Conference 2011 in Freiburg. Elizabeth Forbes and Ines Steenbuck presented their work in a short talk during the award ceremony.



  • Jan Benda (Munich)
  • Simone Cardoso de Oliveira (Freiburg)
  • Philipp Hövel (Berlin)
  • Robert Martin (Berlin)
  • Contantin Rothkopf (Frankfurt)


The awards were made possible due to generous donations by:

  • Brain Products GmbH
  • Multi Channel Systems MCS GmbH