Document Actions

You are here: Home / News / Network News / Brains for Brains Awardees 2010

Brains for Brains Awardees 2010

In 2010, the Bernstein Association for Computational Neuroscience for the first time conferred three "Brains for Brains Young Researchers' Computational Neuroscience Awards". The awardees were announced on July 1st, 2010 (July 2010).

Brains for Brains

With the Brains for Brains Award, the Bernstein Association for Computational Neuroscience honors young scientists that plan to pursue a research career in computational neuroscience and who have achieved scientific publications at a very early stage of their careers. Applications were invited from students from relevant disciplines who had at least one peer reviewed publication (as coauthor) or a peer reviewed conference abstract (as first author) that resulted from predoctoral studies and was accepted or published in 2009 or 2010.

The following applicants were selected for a Brains for Brains award:

  • Ritvik Kumar Niyogi (India, curr. Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit, UK)
    Niyogi, R.K. & English, L.Q.: Learning-rate-dependent clustering and self-development in a network of coupled phase oscillators, Physics Review E, 80, 066213 (2009).

  • Costas Lagogiannis (Greece, curr. University of Southampton, UK)
    Elliott T., Lagogiannis K.: Taming Fluctuations in a Stochastic Model of Spike-Timing-Dependent Plasticity, Neural Computation 21, 3363-3407 (2009).

  • Martinez Cancino (Cuba, Cuban National Bioinformatics Center)
    Sotero R., Martínez-Cancino R.: Dynamical mean field model of a neuralglial mass, Neural Computation 22, 969–997 (2010).

Besides a 500 Euro cash prize money, the award was equipped with a travel grant of up to 1.500 Euro covering a one-week trip to Germany and individually planned visits to up to three German research institions in Computational Neuroscience. The awards were conferred on September 27, 2010, within the framework of the Bernstein Conference 2010 in Berlin. On that occasion, the awardees also had the chance to present their work in short presentations.


  • Prof. Matthias Bethge
  • Dr. Simone Cardoso de Oliveira
  • Dr. Janina Kirsch
  • Dr. Christian Rothkopf
  • Prof. Gabriel Wittum


The Brains for Brains Awards 2010 were financed with generous support by:

  • Brain Products GmbH
  • Multi Channel Systems MCS GmbH
  • Thomas Recording GmbH
  • Circular Informationssysteme GmbH