Document Actions

You are here: Home / News / Network News / Brains for Brains Awardee 2014

Brains for Brains Awardee 2014

For the fifth time, the Bernstein Association for Computational Neuroscience awarded the "Brains for Brains Young Researchers' Computational Neuroscience Award". The prize was presented during the Bernstein Conference in Göttingen (October 2014).

With the Brains for Brains Award, the Bernstein Association for Computational Neuroscience honors young scientists that plan to pursue a research career in computational neuroscience and who have achieved scientific publications at a very early stage of their careers. Applications were invited from students from relevant disciplines who had at least one peer reviewed publication (as coauthor) or a peer reviewed conference abstract (as first author) that resulted from predoctoral studies and was accepted or published in 2013 or 2014.

Winner of the Brains for Brains award 2014:

  • Ben Shababo (Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute, UC Berkeley)
    Ben Shababo, Brooks Paige, Ari Pakman, Liam Paninski (2013). Bayesian Inference and Online Experimental Design for Mapping Neural Microcircuits. Advances in Neural Information Processing Systems (NIPS), 2013.

From left to right: Andrea Huber Brösamle (Bernstein Coordination Site), awardee Ben Shababo (Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute, UC Berkeley), Karl-Heinz Boven (Multi Channel Systems MCS GmbH, donor). Image: Bernstein Coordination Site

In addition to a 500 Euro cash prize, the award is endowed with a travel grant of up to 2.000 Euro covering a one-week trip to Germany and individually planned visits to up to two German research institutions in Computational Neuroscience.

The award was conferred on September 4 within the framework of the Bernstein Conference 2014 in Göttingen. The awardee presented his work in a short talk during the award ceremony as well as during one of the poster sessions.


  • Hermann Cuntz (Frankfurt)
  • Jan Grewe (Tübingen)
  • Arvind Kumar (Freiburg)
  • Martin Rolfs (Berlin)
  • Kerstin Schwarzwälder (Freiburg)

The awards were made possible due to generous donations by:

  • Multi Channel Systems MCS GmbH
  • npi electronic GmbH
  • circular Informationssysteme GmbH